Phone: 1 (803) 435-8813  Fax: 1 (803) 435-4925


Higher Education


Central Carolina Technical College

Central Carolina Technical College is a public two-year college with a campus in Clarendon County. The state-of-the-art facility offers academic credit classes and workforce development opportunities. The readySC™ program uses the college’s Clarendon County campus for its workforce training programs.

Central Carolina Technical College offers credit programs in the following fields:

  • Criminal Justice Technology
  • Business and Computer Technology
  • Engineering Technology
  • Industrial Technology
  • Agriculture
  • Early Childhood Development
  • Health Science/Nursing
  • Legal Assistant/Paralegal
  • Arts and Sciences

Many high school students in the 11th and 12th grades have opportunities to attend classes at the F.E. DuBose Career Center of Central Carolina Technical College. The courses provide these students with career counseling and workforce training for entry into the workplace after graduation. The DuBose Center currently offers 16 different courses for approximately 600 high school students in the workforce and career training program.

Four-Year Colleges And Universities

Clarendon County is located near several four-year institutions. Together, these institutions provide graduates who are eager to enter the local workforce.

The University of South Carolina
USC’s main campus is in Columbia, less than an hour from Clarendon County. USC offers more than 350 undergraduate and graduate courses of study, ranging from liberal arts and sciences to business, law, medicine, and other professional studies.

University of South Carolina—Sumter
USC Sumter is less than 30 minutes from Clarendon County. USC Sumter grants associate’s degrees in both arts and science and provides for the completion of selected bachelor’s degrees on campus through cooperative agreements with other institutions.

Medical University of South Carolina
Founded in 1824 in Charleston, MUSC educates and trains more than 3,000 students and residents, and also operates a 750-bed medical center, which includes a nationally recognized children's hospital.

South Carolina State University
Located in Orangeburg, less than an hour from Clarendon County, S.C. State University is a national leader in producing African-American students with bachelor’s degrees in areas including biology, business, engineering technology, and computer science.

Charleston Southern University
Less than an hour south of Clarendon County, Charleston Southern University is an independent liberal arts university where students can choose from more than 30 undergraduate majors and several graduate programs.

College of Charleston
The College of Charleston is a state-supported comprehensive institution providing education in the arts and sciences, education, and business. The college offers undergraduate and graduate programs and an extensive continuing education program.

The Citadel—The Military College of South Carolina
The Citadel offers 19 undergraduate degree programs, while the College of Graduate and Professional Studies offers evening and summer coeducational undergraduate and graduate degree programs.

Coastal Carolina University
Less than ninety minutes from Clarendon County, Coastal Carolina University offers baccalaureate degrees in 40 fields of study. Graduate offerings include an MBA program.

Francis Marion University
Francis Marion University, in nearby Florence County, is one of South Carolina's 12 state-supported universities. The university offers a broad range of undergraduate degrees and a growing number of graduate programs.

Morris College
Located in Sumter, less than 30 minutes from Clarendon County, Morris College is a historically black, coeducational, four-year liberal arts college operated by the Baptist Educational and Missionary Convention of South Carolina. The mission of Morris College is to produce graduates who can pursue useful and productive careers, and in so doing, enhance their own lives and society.